Loss of a South Carolina RT Icon

Ann Gilchrist Whitmire, a longtime SC respiratory therapist, passed away on Saturday, March 12, 2022 at the age of 88. Ann worked for many years as an RT at Providence Hospital, and also worked at Blue Choice Health Plan until her retirement in September 2017.

Ann was president of the SCSRC in 1986, which was the year the SC legislature passed the Title Protection Act for Respiratory Care Practitioners, which later became what we know now as our RCP licensure act. Ann played a pivotal role in the process of getting the original bill written and passed.

She was the recipient of the SCSRC Practitioner of the Year award as well.

Services for Ann will be held on Saturday, April 2nd, 2022, at 11 am, at The Church of the Good Shepherd (Episcopal), 1512 Blanding Street, Columbia, SC 29201. The family will receive friends one hour prior to the service in the Church Parish Hall. Dunbar Funeral Home is assisting the family, Devine Street Chapel, is assisting the family.

On a personal note, Ann was the first therapist that I rounded with on my very first day in clinic as a fourth quarter RT student at Midlands Tech; she was amazing to work with, a day I will never forget and will always be grateful for….

Exciting News from the SCSRC Executive Committee and Board of Directors!

In keeping with guidance from the AARC, the SCSRC Executive Committee and Board of Directors has unanimously decided to update the name of the “Entry Level Student Scholarship” that is awarded annually to associate degree seeking students to be “Early Professional Student Scholarship”. This is a new, fresh name for the scholarship and is in line with the AARC’s “Early Professional Membership” level that is available to students prior to graduation.

The Early Professional Student Scholarship application is now available on the SCSRC website; if you are a student that would like to apply, please carefully read and follow all instructions contained in the application.

The members of the Scholarship Committee include: Allan Dunphy, MEd, RRT-NPS, RRT-CPFT, RCP; Amanda Coffey, BS, RRT; Selma Watson, BA, RRT, CPFT. If you have any questions, please reach out to [email protected]. We look forward to reviewing the applications and awarding these four scholarships!!

SCSRC 2022 License Renewal


Granted, 2022 is not a licensure renewal year for licensed SC RCPs; however, the SCSRC often is asked questions regarding continuing education requirements for license renewal. The timeframe for the next cycle is as noted below, as well as the CE sponsoring organizations, and approved contact hours for such classes as ACLS, PALS, BLS, etc. Please note: the SCSRC is not responsible for licensure renewal in any way. This is presented as information only; any questions, concerns, etc. should be directed to the SC Labor, Licensing and Regulation department, https://llr.sc.gov.

Respiratory Care Practitioner (RCP) Renewal and Continuing Education Information

Read more

SCSRC 2021 Election Results

Election results

On behalf of the SCSRC Board of Directors and the Election Committee we would like to thank everyone that took part in this process. We would also like to say congratulations and welcome to the incoming 2022 Board members. The results of the election are as follows:

President-Elect:  Jerry A. Alewine, Ed.D, RRT, RCP

Secretary:  Vanessa Dixon, RRT, RCP

Treasurer: Selma Watson, RRT, CPFT, RCP

Delegate:  Wayne Barfield, RRT, RCP

Coastal Region Junior Director:  Michelle Thompson, RRT, CPFT, RCP

Midlands Region Junior Director:  Terrica Rice, RRT, RCP

Pee Dee Region Junior Director: ; Erica Jackson, BSRT, RRT, RCP

Piedmont Region Junior Director:  LaShawn Lewis, RRT, RRT-NPS, RCP

SCSRC 2021 Entry Level Scholarships

The SCSRC Scholarship Committee is pleased to award the 2021 Entry Level Scholarships to the following students:

Crystal Herndon, Midlands Technical College
Her submission was a PowerPoint presentation on “Pulmonary Edema”

Ashley Pridgen, Piedmont Technical College
Her submission was an essay on “Small Cell Lung Cancer”

Hannah Taylor, Trident Technical College
Her submission was an essay on “The Effects of Early Term Delivery on Preterm Neonates”

Kyle Woody, Spartanburg Community College
His submission was an essay on “Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome”

There were two students who also have received “Honorable Mention” for their application and submission:
Kiara Jackson, Piedmont Technical College
Her submission was an essay on “The Effects of Covid-19”

Meghan Starkey, Greenville Technical College
Her submission was an essay on “The Effects of Covid-19 on Frontline Workers and The Care They Provide”

Congratulations for your work on this and the best of wishes as you continue your education!

Note: The Trish Blakely scholarship winner will be announced at the Annual Business Meeting during the conference.