The South Carolina Society for Respiratory Care is a chartered affiliate of the
American Association for Respiratory Care


  • Thank You to Our 2023 Exhibitors and Sponsors by Selma B. Watson RRT, RCP October 1, 2023
  • SCSRC Scholarship & Award Recipients 2023 by Selma B. Watson RRT, RCP September 29, 2023
    Early Professional Scholarship Recipients
    • Austin Graham, Spartanburg Community College
      Essay on “Pulmonary Implications of Guillain Barre Syndrome”
    • Lydia Marie Shealy, Spartanburg Community College
      Essay on “A Look into Pulmonary Edema/CHF”
    • Ashlynne Grace Waters, Piedmont Technical College
      Essay on “Atelectasis: The Disease Within All Diseases”
    Practitioner of the Year – Leadership Recipients
    • Angela Holten, BA, RRT
      Director of Respiratory Care
      Roper St Francis
    • Megan Shell, BSRT, RRT-NPS
      Respiratory Care Manager
      Prisma Health Upstate Children’s Hospital
    Department of the Year
    • Lexington Medical Center
      Respiratory Care Services
    Palmetto Award
    • Tracy Cook, MSRC, RRT
    President’s Award
    • Tracy Cook, MSRC, RRT
  • South Carolina 2023 RCP License Renewal by Selma B. Watson RRT, RCP January 31, 2023


    2023 is a licensure renewal year for licensed SC RCPs; the SCSRC is often asked questions regarding continuing education requirements for license renewal. The timeframe for the next cycle is as noted below, as well as the CE sponsoring organizations, and approved contact hours for such classes as ACLS, PALS, BLS, etc. Please note: the SCSRC is not responsible for licensure renewal in any way. This is presented as information only; any questions, concerns, etc. should be directed to the SC Labor, Licensing and Regulation department,

    Respiratory Care Practitioner (RCP) Renewal and Continuing Education Information

    Continuing Education Timeframe – You must have completed at least thirty (30) hours of continuing education in the RENEWAL PERIOD (June 1, 2021 to May 31, 2023).

    RCPs in their FIRST renewal cycle after receiving their initial permanent license are NOT required to complete CME for this renewal period only.

    1. Continuing education sponsorship – courses must be approved or sponsored by one of the following organizations:
      1. American Association for Respiratory Care, Inc. or its sponsoring organizations
      2. American Heart Association
      3. American Lung Association
      4. Society of Critical Care Medicine
      5. South Carolina Society for Respiratory Care
      6. Allied Health Education Centers of the South Carolina Consortium of Community Teaching Hospitals (AHEC)
      7. American Thoracic Society
      8. American College of Chest Physicians
      9. American Society of Anesthesiologists
      10. Accredited institutional continuing education programs:
        1. Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education
        2. American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation
    2. Approved Number of Contact Hours
      BLS Initial6
      BLS refresher (PHR/PHB BLS, etc.)3
      PALS Initial (2 day class)12
      PALS Refresher6
      ACLS Initial12
      ACLS Refresher6
      NRP Initial6
      NRP Refresher3
  • SCSRC Receives AARC Summit Award by Tracy Cook, MSc, RRT, RCP November 20, 2020

    AARC Summit AwardWe are excited and proud to announce that the South Carolina Society for Respiratory Care (SCSRC) is the 2020 recipient for the AARC’s prestigious Summit Award. This honor reflects our state’s efforts and achievements in promoting professionalism and growth in the field of respiratory care. To be considered for this esteemed annual award, a state affiliate of the AARC must submit a nomination that outlines and provides supporting documentation showing their activities related to seven specific categories:

    • Educational activities
    • Membership and recruiting
    • Legislation/Advocacy
    • Promoting public awareness
    • Benefits to members
    • Collaboration with other health care organizations
    • Student activities

    We thank everyone who supported, volunteered and advocated for the respiratory care professional and provided the opportunity to demonstrate our activities in the seven categories while supporting the SCSRC members, patients and students. The last few years have shown many challenges, from inclement weather to fighting a pandemic, yet we continue to shine and excel in our endeavors.

    The SCSRC President, Dr. Jerry Alewine accepted the Summit award and shared his excitement and sentiments on the efforts behind receiving this distinction:

    “On behalf of the South Carolina Society for Respiratory Care and all respiratory therapists in South Carolina, I graciously accept the 2020 Summit Award. As is well appreciated, these past few months have been a very difficult time for healthcare, and in particular, the respiratory therapist. Through it all, we have continued as a profession, thrived as individuals, and will forever be recognized as vital in the fight against the devastation that is COVID-19.

    To have been awarded the Summit Award, the diligence and commitment of our respiratory therapist has been recognized. They have endured a pandemic and remained consistent in their demand for exceptional care and the promotion of professionalism. This unique year that will be historically remembered as a time of great confusion, emotional turmoil, and unrelenting chaos that has allowed the profession of respiratory therapy to be spotlighted in a way as never before.

    Having the pleasure of serving as president of the SCSRC, I am humbled and thankful for the dedication of the respiratory therapists in the state of South Carolina. Accepting this award, I do so solely as president but by no means the reason for this recognition. I accept on behalf of a state of dedicated professionals that work each day for the care of the patients we serve, promotion of the profession of respiratory therapy, and the commitment to excellence.

    Again, thank you AARC and may each of you be blessed with a better day.”

    Jerry A Alewine EdD, RRT
    President of the SCSRC