2019 SCSRC Awards and Scholarships

SCSRC Scholarships 2019

The SCSRC Board and Scholarship Committee are excited to announce this year’s recipients of Awards and Scholarships. Thank you to all who applied this year, as we recognize your commitment to the profession and your education. Awards will be formally given to the recipients at the annual business meeting at lunchtime on Wednesday Sept. 4, 2019 at the SCSRC Annual Conference in Myrtle Beach, SC where we hope you will join us in congratulating the following award recipients:

2019 4 Entry Level Student $400 Scholarships:

~ Aliza Flavell – Spartanburg Community College – Essay on Lung Cancer
Cydney Dirton – Spartanburg Community College – Essay on Myasthenia Gravis
~ Kailey Moore – Spartanburg Community College – Essay on Cystic Fibrosis
~ Jessica Kennedy – Piedmont Technical College – PowerPoint on Pulmonary Emboli

2019 Trish Blakely Memorial Higher Education $500 Scholarship:

~ Tracy Cook – Northeastern University – MSRC

2019 SC Department of the Year:

 ~ Prisma Health Upstate- Greenville

2019 Awarded 4 Practioners of the Year (POY):

~ Clinical POY to Ms. Julie Wood RRT – MUSC Respiratory Care Dept. Clinician
~ Educator POY to Mr. Eddie Jackson MA, RRT-NPS – Program Director Midlands Technical   College
~ Leadership POY to Mrs. Sherri Gordon MBA, RRT – Director, Organizational Development  and Training/Self Excellence, Respiratory Therapy/Sleep Lab/ Neurodiagnostics @ Self  Regional Healthcare

~ New Outpatient Leadership POY was created in memory of Garrett Galloway to honor his and others’ service and leadership in outpatient respiratory care: This year’s recipient is Mr. Wayne Hicks RRT – Clinical Specialist for Medical Comfort Systems